xm

First and foremost, I’d like to wish you all a very happy and peaceful Christmas-I’d love to hear about how your day has been, so feel free to leave a comment below! I’m very grateful to all my followers: you are all a huge festive present to me in yourselves🙂.

So, as a gift back, I’d like to try and boost your sense of self-worth:


We all feel as if we’re not good enough from time to time; some more than others-not “pretty” enough, not “rich” enough, not “special” enough. And as heartbreaking and wicked this feeling is, it’s a normal aspect of life.

It’s important to remember-particularly at Christmas, whilst we spend our time succumbing to the consumerism that surrounds the festive season-that this existence should never be about what you have materialistically, but about what you give to those who are dependant on you. I’m not talking solely about money, but about your time and your love. Ultimately, this will be the mark, the footprint in the sand, that you leave behind long after you’re gone.

I’ve grown up in a family that barely has two pennies to rub together: but that’s never mattered to me. Although we’ve had a lot of financial hardship, we’re rich in love and care and would walk the length of the Earth and back again for one another if needs be. Growing up “poor”, perhaps surprisingly, has made me somewhat more moral than my wealthy peers, who seem eternally focused on the next generation of iPhone.

Don’t get to that point in life where you pass a homeless person sitting alone on a bench on Christmas day without feeling that stab of pain. Feel the hurt-and use it to do good in the world.

You do not have to be conventionally attractive to have a beautiful soul: that’s something that anybody can achieve, no matter how tall, large, black or white. We all make mistakes, we all hurt other people from time to time-and there’s no shame in admitting that. Being a decent person is not about being perfect, but about doing the best that you can under the circumstances you’ve been given.

If you have, in your core, the intention of being a kind and caring human being, you are priceless.

 

